Tempting Hints of Spring

It is August and it is still winter. We have had some bitterly cold weather this past week – bitterly cold by our standards that is! However, August has also been tempting us with some early spring days when it is warm enough to shed a layer or two.

Today was one such day. Katie and I went for a long walk this morning in the bush where we were able to admire the bright yellow wattle in full bloom.

This afternoon when I was doing some house cleaning – eeekkk!, I was attracted by the sight of sunshine streaming in through the north facing window of my bedroom and the pattern of light and shadow created on objects and the wall.

 

Today was a good day.

9 Responses

  1. Delighted that you had a good day, I liked your photograph.

    • Hi Susan, Another Good Day today – yay! I could get used to blue sky and sunshine. However, back to winter tomorrow and for the rest of the week.

  2. I agree with Susan. The photograph is beautiful with its light and shade. The weather over your way seems to be similar to ours in Ballarat. Wintry cold days, often with rain – but we seem to be getting more sunny days with more warmth. Spring can’t be that far away, surely.

    • Thank you for visiting my blog. Ballarat is generally colder and wetter than Castlemaine. I think Castlemaine has more frosts followed by finer days. Yes, there are more signs of spring everyday. My front garden is full of yellow and white jonquils at present.

  3. What an attractive assortment of items catching the light, Margaret. I’m pleased it was a good day.

    • Thank you for visiting my blog again. I think visiting your blog has inspired me to see the potential in my everyday surroundings.

      • You’re very welcome! I’ve been away for a bit due to the ups and downs of the move. To be honest, I haven’t settled very well in the new location – but time will tell!

  4. I just love good days with sunshine! Of course here we are dealing with summer heat and a slight feeling of autumn around the corner. I envy you just ebbing into the spring months in your part of the world. Spring is such a lovely time of growth and warmth. That photograph exudes a feeling of warmth and coziness.

    • Thanks Lori. With a few days of sunshine and warmth as well as wet weather, the growth of the weeds in my garden is spurting ahead – I am struggling to keep pace.
      I am looking forward to the bursting of the buds of the blossom trees. Castlemaine is so pretty when it is clad in pink and white.

Leave a Reply

