Long Term Project Completed At Last!

dscn5678

Like many people who knit or crochet, I have projects I have been working on over a number of years –  picking them up and putting them down again for a while as other, smaller projects take priority.

This week I completed this rug which I started about five years ago. It is a mixture of eucalyptus coloured wool and novelty yarns. The wool I inherited from my mother’s stash. Most of the rug is knitted with the exception of the three crochet motifs and the border.

dscn5686

dscn5685

dscn5681

‘Hmmm, this is nice and snuggly, Margaret.’

dscn5672

I am planning to give the rug to a family member who lives in a pet free household.

11 Responses

  1. What a good feeling you must have to be finished, Margaret. Well done!

    • Thanks Gail. I have some smaller projects in the pipeline and another rug languishing in a bag waiting for attention so there is plenty to be getting on with.

  2. Well done, a masterpiece!

  3. It has the look of market garden rows of produce! 🎈

    • Hi Susan. I like to make rugs to my own design. That way I stay interested in the project, given a rug takes a while to complete.

    • Hi Janina. That is an interesting perspective. I like the way people can view an object through the prism of their own experience and imagination.

  4. What a beautiful work of art! Is that Katy trying to cop a nap in luxury? Ha ha!

    • Yes Lori. Katie was examining the rug as soon as I spread it out on the bed. It has certainly been tested for comfort.
      I don’t keep the rugs I make as my pets and I share our home. I use blankets and doonas which I can easily wash and get dry.

  5. Well done, Margaret! I know from experience that it’s hard to pick up a project started a while ago, and finish it!

    • Hi, While there are projects I have started and never finished, …..usually relating to sewing, I eventually finish the ones involving knitting or crochet. I find knitting and crochet relaxing whilst sewing is often frustrating. I prick my fingers, the thread gets tangled, I need a needle threader to get the thread through the eye of the needle etc.

      • I understand where you’re coming from! With age, my poor eyes are struggling with small detail. I needed to use a needle threader for the first time the other day for a simple repair job.

Leave a Reply

