Serenity, Newstead

dscn5451

The Castlemaine and District Festival of Gardens was a very busy week. During the week, I visited two open gardens in Newstead – Lacey’s which I posted a few weeks ago and Serenity.

Serenity is right in the heart of the township. It presents a modest frontage, but there is more to Serenity than initially meets the eye. The property extends way back behind the house. As we stood in the back yard, one local remarked she had walked past the property many times and had no idea how big it actually is.

dscn5424

dscn5462

The garden is heavily planted with members of the daisy clan – reliable performers in Newstead’s tough climate.

dscn5428

dscn5429

dscn5434

dscn5432

I admired the effect of blue, white and green in this planting.

dscn5433

dscn5445

dscn5446

I don’t often see foxgloves. There was quite a show in this garden.

dscn5443

dscn5436

dscn5442

The owners clearly like lots of colour in their garden.

dscn5456

dscn5458

dscn5435

The owners have added decorative elements to add interest.

dscn5440

dscn5438

dscn5457

They clearly want to sit and enjoy the garden.

dscn5452

This garden retreat at the rear of the property is still a work in progress. The interior is not quite finished but the verandah is a joy to behold. It is so inviting.

dscn5454

7 Responses

  1. What a beautiful garden, thank you for showing us round. I especially enjoyed the pansies.

    • Hi Susan. Pansies are a favourite annual of mine also. I plant them in pots on my north facing verandah in autumn. I have only recently replaced them with portulacas which can handle the hot and dry conditions of Castlemaine’s summer.

  2. What a lovely garden. I especially love the foxgloves, which we do not see much of around these parts. I also loved the bird ornament and the antique Singer sewing machine table. Geraniums are one of my favorite plants also… they provide such a striking splash of color, and I find the leaves pretty too. Their scent reminds me of my Grandma’s outdoor porch where she raised dozens of them, and often managed to winter them over in some very frigid temperatures!

    • I am glad you enjoyed the garden, Lori. Singer sewing machine tables seem to keep on keeping on. They make a popular stand.
      I associate geraniums with Mediterranean countries. I think it is all those travel images of Spain and Greece – blue skies, narrow streets, white buildings and pots of geraniums.

  3. What a beautiful garden – bursting with colour and life! I love the way gardens surprise with their size and just how much can be fitted in a small space.

    • Hi, The garden was certainly bursting – it was so densely planted. Every available space was utilised – no lawns.

      • I’m not a fan of lawns, either. I think space in a garden should be devoted to edible produce or flowers and tall prairie type grasses! Lawns are, however, useful as paths inbetween.

Leave a Reply

