Green Monster

dscn5597

 

The Castlemaine branch of the Country Women’s Association receives donations of knitted squares which the members make up into rugs which in turn are donated to an organisation in Bendigo which supports women and children escaping domestic violence.

I decided to make a toy using two of the donated squares and adding limbs and features to create this friendly monster. Whilst they are fiddly to make, I wanted the monster to have hands with fingers. I obtained the pattern via a link on another blog.

I had a lot of fun making this toy and I hope there is a child who will enjoy playing with it.

15 Responses

  1. What a delightful monster! I thought this would be a post about some big insect in a garden! Ha ha. What a sweet surprise!

    • Hi Lori, I like it when we can laugh at ourselves when we encounter something we didn’t expect. I am glad the monster was a pleasant surprise.

  2. You are clever, I am sure some child will adore it.

  3. That’s the friendliest monster I’ve ever seen ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m sure it’ll be much enjoyed Margaret.

    • Thanks Gail. I didn’t want to terrorise any child with my creation.

      • Great reply ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. What a happy monster Margaret, so colourful too. Children love colour, and those little fingers, how patient you are!! This could be one of those toys a child keeps for life. Memory of finally feeling safe

    • I am glad you like the monster, Jennie. I hope it will be a toy a child likes to hug.

      • I’m sure it will be Margaret, he looks soft and cuddly.

  5. That’s lovely! I would love to make toys to donate

    • Hi, I think it is a matter of finding the right opportunity through a local organisation.

      • I have to spend a bit of time, once we finish some renovations and Christmas, finding an organisation!

  6. What fun! It’s lovely, Margaret and I’m sure it will give a lot of pleasure to the child who received it.

Leave a Reply

