Wellanbah, Campbells Creek

DSCN5103

It is early spring and the open gardens season is kicking off. Locally, HEDGE (Horticultural Endeavours Demonstrating Gardening Enthusiasm) gardens are opening on Sundays during September.

I visited two gardens on Sunday, the 4th of September.

It was a grey, chill day as well as being Fathers Day and I had Wellanbah to myself. One of the owners expressed reservations about being open so early before the colourful spring flowers bloom.

DSCN5077

But is it interesting seeing gardens at different times of the year. The deciduous trees were still in their winter aspect. I was intrigued by the rows of seed pods on this tree.  However, the euphorbias were showing off their new, lime green flowers.

DSCN5079

 

DSCN5092

The owners had planted pencil pines to create strong vertical shapes. Wellanbah is the only garden I have visited where woodbines are featured with multiple plantings. Woodbines are as tough as boots. Their sweetly perfumed flowers attract bees and honey eaters at a time when nectar can be scarce.

DSCN5100

 

DSCN5091

In my last post, I wrote hellebores were a rarity in local gardens. I was delighted to see this one happily blooming.

DSCN5090

 

DSCN5095

Succulents here ……….

DSCN5096

……….. succulents there.

DSCN5081

 

DSCN5098

This is one way to build a low, stone wall.

DSCN5085

Nearby Campbells Creek has a significant effect on Wellanbah. The garden enjoys deep, good quality soil and temperatures of minus 6 degrees celsius on frosty mornings.

DSCN5086

2 Responses

  1. I also like to visit gardens and national parks at different times of the year. It’s interesting as you say to see the changes and the different features…budding, flowering, seeding and leaf colour change and leaf loss during the year. Pencil pines remind me of my childhood as they were a common sight in gardens. They are actually protected on the heritage tree list in my suburb now and people need permission to remove them. I particularly like the spherical shaped silver succulents in this garden, Margaret.

    • Visiting open gardens is one of my favourite outings, Jane. I have never thought of pencil pines being protected under heritage listings. I guess the ones in your suburb are older than these ones.

Leave a Reply

