Hellebores

DSCN3883

Aaaaaaaagh!!!!! What do I do when the photographs for the post I had planned for today don’t turn out? I dig into my archives.

This pastel drawing of hellebores is the final of the series featuring my former garden in Ferntree Gully. I drew the picture in August 2009. I greatly admired the quiet and subtle beauty of these flowers.

Hellebores like growing in dappled shade and seem to prefer a climate which is wetter than here in Castlemaine. Whilst I see them growing in gardens in the Macedon Ranges, I rarely see them growing locally.

DSCN3885

11 Responses

  1. Always a pleasure to look at your art work, thank you.

    • Thank you, Susan. I am glad of the opportunity to share my work.

  2. I think they’re a beautiful flower too. I have a fave foto and may create a gallery of my fave flowers, which will include the hellebore. What are some of the more common flowers that grow well in Castlemaine?

    • Hi, thank you for your interest. Right now, Castlemaine is bursting into spring glory. That means blossom, magnolias, camellias – I can’t believe there are camellias which do well here – spring bulbs, rosemary, euphorbias, wattles, grevilleas, low growing, hot coloured members of the daisy clan, lavender and flowering quinces. Roses and iris will swing into action over the next couple of months.

      • Wow…well, sounds like you’ve got quite a choice of painting subjects to keep you busy! haha

  3. I believe this is one of my favorites of your pastels, Margaret!

    • I am glad this drawing has given you pleasure, Lori.

  4. Very pretty pastel colours, Margaret. Hellebores appear late Winter, early Spring here, and are always a delight to see.

    • Hi, I was in Hellebore heaven recently when I visited an open garden near Kyneton which is up on the Great Dividing Range. The climate is wetter and cooler there. The garden will be the subject of a future post.

  5. I always enjoy your pastel pieces, Margaret. Thanks for sharing them. 🙂

    • I am glad you enjoy my work, Jane. Thank you for your supportive comments.

Leave a Reply

