Amelia Jane

DSCN4933

Now for something a bit different……….My niece, Gemma, commissions me from time to time to make some object on her wish list. In 2015 it was a Minion Beanie, this year, an Amelia Jane doll.

When I received the commission, I had no idea who Amelia Jane was. It turns out Amelia Jane is the primary character in a series of Enid Blyton books in Gemma’s possession. Gemma and I spent some time examining the changes to Amelia Jane’s appearance over the decades since the books were originally published and Gemma provided me with her preferences……..and this is the result.

I was enormously relieved and pleased that Gemma was very happy with her custom made Amelia Jane……especially after the blood, sweat and tears (not to mention profanities) that went into her creation.

Amelia Jane was concocted from the blending and adapting of free crochet patterns I found on the Ravelry website.

DSCN4934

14 Responses

  1. Great work, Margaret!

    • I never know what challenges are going to come my way. I am touched by my niece’s faith in my abilities.

  2. Sweet and stylish!

    • Thank you, Johanna. Coming from you with your talent for creating things with yarn, that is high praise indeed.

  3. You are both kind and clever.

    • I was up for the challenge, Susan, and it is rewarding making something for someone who is so appreciative.

  4. I love Amelia Jane’s eyes!! She has a bit of mischief about her!! Fine work and definitely a wonderful keepsake!

    • Thank you, Lori. The titles of the Amelia Jane books show that she is definitely a mischief maker. Gemma tells me that the Amelia Jane character was handmade by a grandmother which meant she was inclined to be mischievous.

  5. Cute little doll, Amelia Jane is a great name too. BTW, haven’t seen your usual comment around my blog lately, come by and leave a comment of your own!

  6. Margaret your talents are boundless………Emma is beautiful …….and ever so cute.

    • Aw shucks, Jennie. Thank you for your kind comments.

  7. I would have loved such a gift. I don’t think I ever had a handcrafted doll such as this as a child. I had plastic ones though. This is very pretty, Margaret, and I’m sure will be treasured by its owner. Very clever of you.

    • Hi Jane. It is interesting how some children value toys which are hand made whilst others much prefer mass produced toys. I made Gemma a large cat about five years ago and she still has it.

Leave a Reply

