The Streets of Port Fairy

DSCN4169

My visit to Port Fairy in September 2015 has generated a number of posts. There were so many things begging to be photographed.

The centre of town is dominated by the bluestone square tower of the Anglican church. There are other churches in town but this one makes the biggest statement because of its size and location.

DSCN4167

The photograph of the Anglican church was taken from the front of the Methodist church.

DSCN4168

 

DSCN4176

 

DSCN4179

 

DSCN4210

 

DSCN4241

It took a little while before people discovered the advantages of a verandah.

This is the old customs house.

DSCN4265

DSCN4266

Susan, you might recognise this knocker from one of your posts. Only this one is on the front door of an old inn on the other side of the world.

DSCN4258

6 Responses

  1. I do recognise the door knocker, how clever of you to remember the first one and spot the second.

    • Hi Susan, Perhaps this was a popular design for door knockers in the 19th century. The knocker may have been the pride and joy of one of the early owners wishing to show how fashionable they were.

  2. It’s interesting to see the pretty little stone cottages. As you say it took a while before people thought about the advantages of verandahs in our hot weather. Strangely, we seem to be reverting back to concrete “boxes” up here in sunny Queensland. I suppose it’s because people can use their air conditioners all day and maybe space is at a premium. Verandahs are just so practical and lovely though. Thanks for sharing more lovely pictures from your tour.

  3. Thank you, Jane. I don’t think I have ever seen so many cottages from the pre verandah era in the one place before.
    I live in a modern house without eves (who thought that was a good idea?) but I am lucky to have a front verandah. No such luck for the back of the house though which means rain comes in the laundry door. Some day, if circumstances permit, a verandah will be built on the back.

  4. Hi Margaret, I recognise some of these places from 20 years ago when I visited. I too found the lack of verandahs interesting. Also enjoyed the streetscape of Norfolk Island Pines in the street where I was staying. Lovely place to visit…..love your photos.

    • Hi Jennie, I am glad this post brought back memories of your own visit to Port Fairy.
      Prior to September 2015, I had visited Port Fairy when I was in my early 20s. I could not recognise where I stayed or any of the landmarks – too long ago I’m afraid.

Leave a Reply

