Banksia Flowers

DSCN3877

I have dug deep into my archives for this post.

At the time of making this drawing I wrote,

The subtle beauty of the blossoms of 

my favourite tree in the garden

offer solace

after a bruising visit to my parents.

7th September 2008

The tree was a Silver Banksia (Banksia marginata) and it was my ‘go to tree’ when I needed to think or seek refuge.

This post is part of a series of drawings about my former garden in Ferntree Gully.

DSCN3878

 

DSCN1179

 

 

8 Responses

  1. Lovely paintings, I hope they helped you to get over your trauma.

    • Thank you Susan. Making art is absorbing and often calming and restoring.

  2. Thank you for sharing your beautiful artwork and also your words from the past. Nature also provides me with comfort after traumatic experiences so I can certainly relate to your words, Margaret.

    • I am glad you enjoyed this post, Jane. Being soothed by being in nature or contemplating those things found in nature is healthier than turning to addictive substances for relief.

  3. I could really relate to your words about finding comfort after trauma. Your connection with nature and your ability to express that in your artwork has been therapeutic for you. Thank you for sharing that with us.

    • Hi Lori. I am glad this post struck a chord for you.

  4. A lovely interpretation of these unusual and very pretty flowers, Margaret.

    • Thank you. Drawing these flowers was challenging, but rewarding.

Leave a Reply

