Ainsley, Kyneton

DSCN4150

The day is bright and sunny. It is 35 degrees Celsius, the air conditioner is going and I am searching through my archives for a post for this week. My attention alights upon a garden I visited in September during the 2015 Kyneton Daffodil and Arts Festival.

The 6th of September 2015 was grey and bitterly cold as only Kyneton can be. Yet, I braved the elements to visit two town gardens which were open as part of the festival.

Ainsley is a garden which has been remodelled over the past four years. The rear of the property slopes down to the Campaspe River. The garden experiences more severe cold and frosts than other parts of Kyneton resulting in more challenging growing conditions.

DSCN4153

 

DSCN4148

This part of the garden is still being developed. I was interested in the way old concrete and rubble was being used to form the garden edging/wall for this built up bed.

DSCN4149

 

DSCN4151

The purple broccoli was eye catching. Purple vegetables were present in various open gardens I visited last spring.

DSCN4154

 

DSCN4155

 

DSCN4160

The front garden has been remodelled over the past two years.

DSCN4158

 

DSCN4161

 

DSCN4163

 

DSCN4157

 

9 Responses

  1. Very pretty garden especially with all the Spring flowers. Our winter has been so mild we too have Spring flowers in bloom.

    • I am glad you enjoyed seeing the spring flowers, Susan. I am sure winter has a much more cheerful aspect with the early blooming of spring flowers because of the milder weather.

      Right now, the focus is on keeping plants alive in the garden. Some plants wilt in the heat even if they are well watered. The hope is they recover in the cooler temperatures of the evening.

  2. Margaret, you have captured the essence of Spring’s soft and delicate colors very nicely. I love especially, that old concrete and rubble is being utilized to create edging and walls. We do that here as well, as my husband’s granddad used to allow the city to dump concrete and asphalt along the canyon rim to prevent erosion. We use the larger pieces to build walkways and as a base, down in a dry creek for eye appeal.

    • Hi Lori, It is interesting the way materials can be recycled to create something new and attractive. The new garden bed will look terrific when it is planted up and there are plants spilling over the edges.

  3. I like the way they’re recycling old materials. It’s a lovely garden and I was surprised to see the purple broccoli. That is new to me! I wonder if it more appealing for children to eat than the green ones. Thank you for another lovely tour, Margaret. I’m enjoying catching up on your blog again. 🙂

    • Hi Jane. I don’t know if all the purple coloured vegetables are still purple when they are cooked. Purple carrots retain their colour.

      Imagine how amazing a dinner plate would look with red tomatoes, yellow capsicums and purple broccoli.

      • The purple broccoli is a very vibrant colour. Over here, the purple colour is very dark – more greeny-purple but it does retain some of that colour after cooking.

        I have used an old variety of purple potato before – a ‘Heritage’ variety – and it was quite alarming to see the purple spuds in the pan! The strong colour wore off a fair bit in the cooking but was still evident on the plate. The colour put me off buying those particular potatoes again as it looked as if they had gone bad.

  4. Thank you for sharing your experiences with purple vegetables. It is interesting how colour can affect us and the meaning we give to colour. In your case, the purple potatoes looked as if they had gone bad. I remember when I first saw black spaghetti. My reaction was, ‘I’m not eating that. Spaghetti is not meant to be black.’ I’ve mellowed a bit since then.

    • I haven’t come across black spaghetti! I shall look out for it when I next go shopping!

Leave a Reply

