Down The Calder

DSCN4530

 

Each month, Katie and I travel from Castlemaine down the Calder Highway to Melbourne where I stay for 2 to 3 nights. I visit my father who is 91 years old, other family and friends. Katie gets to hang out with Kliff and Lucy, the canines who reside with my brother, Malcolm and sister, Beverley.

In the collage, I am passing Mt. Macedon with its Memorial Cross and low hanging cloud – quite often mist, fog or rain.

Whilst I am glad to catch up with family and friends, I am also glad when it is time to return home.

When I first moved to Castlemaine, I was told the longer I lived here, the harder it would become to return to Melbourne. The people who said this were right! If I knew nobody in Melbourne, there would be no reason for this monthly trip.

DSCN4535

 

882172_10206797878199420_5417547151961241435_o

Here are Lucy, the Golden Retriever, and Kliff, the Bull Arab X, sunning themselves.

My niece, Lily, took the photograph.

 

 

6 Responses

  1. Love your collages.

    • Thank you, Susan. I have fun making them. Collages are an accessible form of creative expression as people don’t need to get hung up about whether they can draw or paint.

  2. How wonderful you are able to make this trek to see family… but I understand the happiness of coming home as well. You seem well-contented, Margaret. I think you’ve found your spot on the map! 🙂

    • You are right, Lori. I feel very privileged being able to live in a place I love. Melbourne was right and a necessity for a certain period of my life but the city has now served its purpose. With retirement, I was free to answer the call of the bush.

  3. I can understand your contentment with being at home in Castlemaine. I’m still not used to living in the city although I am lucky to have a beautiful garden here and quite a nice area. On my recent trip back to the country I realised how much I missed it. I do appreciate all the conveniences and work I have here though and it is where I need to be for the moment. One day I will return to the bush or the sea again. I used to keep a written diary, but seeing your collages has inspired me to try a scrapbook style one instead full of collages. I think it’s a wonderfully fun and artistic way to preserve memories and ideas.

    • Thank you, Jane. I wish you well in creating a series of collages. I hope you find making collages is a satisfying way of expressing yourself.

Leave a Reply

