Spring Sculpture at Mica Grange

 

DSCN4487

It is a treat being able to view sculpture in a rural garden setting. The different exhibitions held at Mica Grange on the slopes of Mt. Alexander create opportunities to view new works – some by artists seen previously and some by new artists.

DSCN4481

 

DSCN4482

 

DSCN4483

 

DSCN4515

I wonder what these children are pondering. I think they would look great gazing into a small pool with fish or frogs.

DSCN4467

Who would have thought an earwig would be the subject for sculpture? And it is so lovingly crafted.

DSCN4471

DSCN4489

It is amazing what can be created using chicken wire, old metal and reclaimed metal shelving.

DSCN4490

I think these frocks are a delight.

DSCN4493

DSCN4503

Masai warriors on the front lawn – Why Not??

DSCN4497

DSCN4498

DSCN4499

DSCN4509

This piece is stunning.

DSCN4507

I photographed these works when I visited Mica Grange on Sunday, the 15th of November 2015.

 

6 Responses

  1. Very interesting series of works, I liked best the second one you photographed. Was it rusty metal?

    • Hi Susan, Yes, the art work hanging on the wall is rusty metal. Many of the pieces are made from recycled or repurposed materials – rusty metal being a favourite.

  2. I love your exclamation – “Why Not?”. I think my favorites are the metal frocks, but that last set of photographs is amazing. Is that glass in a metal frame? The amber colors made me wonder if it was some other type of media.

  3. Hi Lori, I am sorry but I don’t know whether the last art work is glass or some other material as I didn’t read the label. With the sun shining through the translucent central disc, the colours were absolutely gorgeous. All I needed was the money to purchase it and the garden big enough to install it in.

  4. Hi Margaret, still trying to sign up for comments on your blog…..Happy New Year!!

    • Hi Jennie, I hope you have now got it sorted. Have a great start to the new year.

Leave a Reply

