Indulgence, Wheatsheaf

DSCN4083

‘Indulgence’ in the tiny settlement of Wheatsheaf was the second garden I visited on the 30th of August this year during the Gardens of Glenlyon open gardens event.

I am ashamed to admit I ran out of puff touring this extensive garden and didn’t quite make it down to the lake. However, there was plenty to see and appreciate:

DSCN4089

Quirky garden art and ornamentation

DSCN4099

DSCN4091

DSCN4108

DSCN4106

DSCN4095

Daffodils

DSCN4097

DSCN4077

Very serious vegetable garden protection with fancy doors

DSCN4079

DSCN4080

DSCN4084

Tough shrubs

DSCN4103

Early blossoms

DSCN4090

And this goose and its companions.

10 Responses

  1. Goodness me, what a garden full of interesting things, such a lot to see no wonder you didn’t make it all the way.

    • Thanks Susan. I was travelling home from Melbourne and was feeling a trifle weary by the time I was approaching the bottom of the garden. I am amused how the garden creators use their gardens for self expression.

  2. I like all the quirky garden statues/ornaments. Hmm…I think I need those heavy fortifications for my vegetable garden and fruits and berries here. The brush turkeys, possums, birds and flying foxes don’t like to share! Thanks for another lovely tour.

    • I am glad you liked the tour, Jane. This garden certainly had the most impressive vegetable garden enclosure I have seen to date. Some gardeners also enclose their fruit trees in robust cages. They need to keep their trees well pruned so the trees continue to fit.

  3. Oh I love those black crows… well, they are crows, aren’t they? Ha ha! I also love the use here of rusty corrugated metal sheets. We use those a good bit as accent when building or making repairs.

    • Hi Lori, Are you familiar with the nursery rhyme ‘Sing a song of sixpence, a pocket full of rye, four and twenty blackbirds baked in a pie, when the pie was opened the birds began to sing’ etc.? These are the singing blackbirds coming out of the pie. The Common Blackbird is an exotic species introduced into Melbourne in the 1850s. They are a familiar bird in gardens and parks. The male,with its orange beak, has a melodious song. Blackbirds love fossicking in mulch looking for tasty morsels to eat.

      • I do remember the song! Your blackbirds are different than ours here. Most people here do not care for them, noisy as they are, but I love their cackle and look forward to flocks of them in the fall. They are a tough bird of winter here. And when they raise young, they are very attentive and good teachers. Their young stay with them a year or two, and often come together in a large family flock during the winter months.

  4. The garden sculptures and ornaments are quite quirky – I like them!
    It looks like a beautiful and interesting garden.

    • Yes, Gail. Indulgence is an interesting garden. My favourite piece of garden art is the pig looking into the fireplace.
      Indulgence has accommodation so it would a fascinating place to stay.

      • Yes, that makes me smile. I like the magpie family too.

Leave a Reply

