The Moyne River, Port Fairy

 

 

DSCN4218

 

DSCN4213

 

DSCN4214

 

DSCN4247

 

DSCN4251

 

DSCN4245

 

DSCN4244

This is my second post featuring my holiday in Port Fairy.

Port Fairy is located at the point where the Moyne River enters the Southern Ocean.

Port Fairy’s history is closely linked with the sea, firstly whaling and sealing and these days, fishing. Port Fairy is home port to one of Victoria’s largest fishing fleets.

The tall, dark trees are Norfolk Island pines which are a familiar sight in coastal suburbs and towns.

9 Responses

  1. It looks a lovely place for a holiday. I was glad to see the Norfolk Pines too.

    • Thanks Susan. The avenues of Norfolk pines in Port Fairy are very impressive.

  2. You’ve captured the essence of the place wonderfully Margaret 🙂

    • I am glad you connect with this post as a local, Enivea.

  3. Norfolk pines, a lighthouse, boats and a river. Looks like a lovely place to holiday. Thanks for sharing this special place with us, Margaret. 🙂

    • I am glad I am doing my bit to promote Port Fairy as a holiday destination, Jane. I certainly felt deeply relaxed at the end of my time there.

  4. It looks lovely Margaret. The waterfront looks peaceful. A good place to stroll, listen to the ‘tink, tink’ of sailing boat bits and relax. 🙂

    • Gail, I don’t know how frenetic Port Fairy becomes during holiday periods or during the Port Fairy Folk Festival. It was a relaxing place to be just before the September school holidays.
      I like the way you picked up on the ‘tink, tink’ of sailing boat bits.

      • It probably would be bustling during the folk festival. I believe it’s quite a big event.
        Sounds like you picked a good time to be there Margaret.

Leave a Reply

