Ode to Autumn

DSCN3678

 The colours and fruits of autumn have captured my attention over the past few months when this series of photographs was taken.

I was hobbling around as I recovered from a leg injury which meant my ability to walk any great distance was impaired… so I carried my camera and Katie learnt patience as we proceeded on our gentle walks.

DSCN3684

 None of the trees and plants featured in this post are native to Australia. Their origins are in other parts of the world. Some have been carefully planted whilst others have escaped and settled where conditions have suited them.

Australian trees are generally evergreen shedding their leaves throughout the year. More leaves are shed during summer or times of drought to conserve water.

DSCN3682

 

DSCN3505

I revelled in the intense, bright colours of foliage.

DSCN3528

 

 

DSCN3639

 

DSCN3648

 

DSCN3655

 

DSCN3661

 

DSCN3685

 

DSCN3694

 

DSCN3697

 

DSCN3508

Autumn is the season of fruitfulness for a variety of plants.

DSCN3640

 

DSCN3659

 

DSCN3665

 

DSCN3670

 

DSCN3699

 

DSCN3793

The Castlemaine Botanical Gardens in its autumn mood.

DSCN3794

 

 

16 Responses

  1. Hello Margaret. I think it could be examined as the one good thing that came out of your leg injury – slowing down to check out every aspect of the autumn foliage! I too love the many intense colors and varied fruits some of these wild plants and trees have to offer. Even in the woodlands here, by walking with Daisy, I learned an appreciation for all that plants offer through the year, but in the autumn the woodlands become a spender of beauty. You did a lovely job here in documenting the “autumn mood” of this gentle garden.

    • Hi Lori, Here in Australia, the exotic deciduous trees are planted as street trees, in avenues and as feature trees in parks and gardens…. so we don’t get to experience the full beauty of a deciduous woodland or forest. I think seeing a woodland in full colour would be very special.

  2. Intense, bright colors of foilage indeed. Beautiful! The reds are particularly fabulous. Thanks Margaret. 🙂

    • Hi Jim, Yes, the reds were at their brightest this year. I imagine you would appreciate the autumn colours of the woodland area of your garden.

  3. The colour and splendor of autumn is natures way of telling us to get the house in order because it’s just about time to hole up for winter. Prior to studying horticulture, I had always thought that the imported deciduous trees might be pretty but that they weren’t really viable for growing in our conditions but then I learned that trees like oak and elm trees are incredibly hardy, create a huge swath of biomass when they shed their leaves and increase the fertility of the soil around them, they are in shut-down mode over winter so aren’t drawing continuously on the soil and the most important thing, most of them are fire retardant where our Aussie natives tend to light up like Christmas trees at the first sniff of smoke thanks to the volatile oils that most of them contain. I completely revised my thinking about imported exotic trees and am very glad that I did 🙂

    • Hi Fran, I am glad deciduous trees were planted in towns like Castlemaine because their summer shade provides oases of coolness.

      • The summer shade and the winter openness makes deciduous trees very valuable and that autumn colour is a wonderful bonus (along with all of those leaves to rake and compost 😉 )

  4. Oh my, these are gorgeous Autumn colours! The reds are stunning. I don’t see many deciduous trees up here in Brisbane, but I do have a Chinese Elm in my backyard. It’s regarded as a pest tree but until I can afford to have it removed I will enjoy the beautiful golden leaf showers in Autumn. Thank you for sharing this beautiful collection, Margaret. 🙂

    • Thank you, Jane. Many deciduous trees are now bare. However, the elms and oaks are still shedding their leaves. It is gorgeous walking through the Castlemaine Botanical Gardens looking up into the gold and brown clad branches of these large spreading trees.

  5. I love the colours that Autumn brings. There isn’t much leaf change up here though.

    • Hi Brian. Thanks for stopping by. Yes, the autumn colours are a feature of the cooler climates of southern Australia whilst you, no doubt, get to enjoy plants which are suited to a warmer climate and which would perish down here.

  6. Beautiful colours make me look forward to autumn. Great photos.

    • Thank you. I am glad you enjoyed the photos. I hope you are making the most of your summer warmth.

      • I am, thank you! Bit cooler today but very humid.

  7. Beautiful photographs Margaret. I visited Canberra at the end of May and met the autumnal colours face to face. It was delightful.

    • Thank you, Gail. Yes, the colours of autumn are special. Canberra’s climate would certainly enhance the autumn display.

Leave a Reply

