Giant Sunflower Garden

DSCN3550

 

DSCN3561

The entrance to the garden

DSCN3563

The sunflowers stand tall and proud.

DSCN3564

 

DSCN3553

 

DSCN3567

The garden is full of colourful flowers.

DSCN3559

 

DSCN3555

Giant insects fly and crawl about.

DSCN3566

 

DSCN3562

DSCN3556

There are birds watching over the garden.

DSCN3557

The Giant Sunflower Garden was created by the students of  Newstead Primary School under the guidance of Karen Pierce, a local artist. The birds were painted by an artist exhibiting as part of the Spadeworks exhibition in the Newstead Community Centre. The school children’s art and the exhibition were part of the 2015 Castlemaine State Festival  held from the 13th to the 22nd of March.

 

7 Responses

  1. I love it when artists work with kids as it’s a wonderful learning experience for everyone involved. Thank you for sharing this wonderfully colourful, positive post Margaret 🙂

    • Hi Fran, I get the impression the students and the artist all have a good time creating works like this. The art is so playful and full of colour and energy.

      • That’s what art is for isn’t it. Expressing what is inside in a joyful and colourful way 🙂

  2. I really love those bird paintings!

    • Hi Lori, Yes, the artist has captured the intense gaze of the black shouldered kites very well.

  3. What a wonderful idea! I remember when I was young, my teacher invited an artist to our class to teach us some techniques. She was very encouraging and I still have strong memories of that event. I think it is wonderful when children are given the opportunity to really enjoy art and make their own creations to display like this. How much fun they must have had. It’s a display that looks joyful and full of life. Thanks for sharing their creativity with us. The bird pictures at the end are wonderful. She has got that “stare” just right. I can’t imagine it would be easy to paint on corrugated surfaces.

    • Jane, I agree about the opportunities children have in school for making art. I am both admiring and envious when I look at displays like the Giant Sunflower Garden. I sometimes wish I could go back to primary school and have those art experiences also.

Leave a Reply

