Daylesford Botanic Gardens on Wombat Hill

 

DSCN3807

 

It was an absolutely delightful autumn day when I visited Daylesford Botanic Gardens on Friday, the 10th of April.

It was the last day of the term school holidays and the majority of visitors were puffing up the look out tower to take in the views of the town and surrounding countryside.

The shape and steepness of Wombat Hill suggest it is of volcanic origin but neither the brochure about the gardens nor a cursory scan of google gave any information about the hill’s origins.

I spent a lazy day wandering around the garden taking photographs, lunching among the tomatoes of the cafe’s kitchen garden and drawing.

 

DSCN3704

 Katie and I had our feet firmly on the ground as we admired the views.

DSCN3707

 

DSCN3714

 

DSCN3717

 

DSCN3710

 The glowing, dappled light shining through the leaves of the elm drive was bewitching.

DSCN3715

 

DSCN3720

 

DSCN3723

 

DSCN3721

 

DSCN3729

This is a sight I am unlikely to see in Castlemaine – a holly tree full of berries. Hollies grow well in Daylesford with its cold, damp climate.

DSCN3726

10 Responses

  1. I have a friend who grew up around Daylesford so I have seen a few pictures before. None of the Botanic Gardens though. How lovely it is in Autumn with the changing leaves and the dappled light. Your pictures make it very enticing! Your sketch is beautiful, Margaret. Thanks for sharing this lovely walk. It looked like a glorious day. 🙂

    • Yes Jane, The day was as perfect as an autumn day can be.
      My mother’s family lived on a farm in Little Hampton and my mother attended Daylesford High School.

      When I was young, Daylesford was a decrepit, dying spa town and the Botanic Gardens, a shadow of their former glory.

      But Daylesford’s fortunes changed and my grandparents would have difficulty recognising the bustling tourist town it is again. Daylesford is packed on weekends. Sunday trading is certainly a boon with parking hard to come by in the main street.

  2. Oh I love your use of the word, “bewitching”. That perfectly describes the willowy branches of the trees and the dappled light cast down through the canopy of leaves. Your drawing is beautiful… it is so much like the woodlands where I live!

    • I am glad you like the drawing, Lori. It was a pleasure making the drawing on such a beautiful day.

      The Botanic Garden certainly has a northern hemisphere feel due to the original choice of trees planted.

  3. Isn’t it lovely when autumn tempers the heat of our Aussie summers and you get to see things without having to sweat through your eyelids. I love it when the leaves fall. It makes me happier than I would have ever thought possible and Earl loves acorns 🙂

    • Hi Fran, Yes, autumn has its own special magic.

      It has been so dry here, the trees coloured early and have been in a hurry to shed their leaves to conserve water.

      This week it seems winter has been in a hurry to arrive – with cold winds and our first decent rain for a while.

      I agree acorns have their attractions. My nieces and nephews used to collect them when they were younger. Katie will play with acorns but prefers my pinecone collection.

      • We have been cold here for over a month now. Our cold weather hit as soon as autumn arrived but we have been awfully dry as well. We had a spot of rain the other day and I was jumping up and down for joy. More forecast for Saturday but I am not holding my breath. We are going to redesign Sanctuary to mostly water wicked beds to make sure we don’t waste water next year in a big over winter redesign.

  4. Fran, It looks like you and Steve are going to be very busy over the TAFE semester break. I bet you both will be out scavenging for the materials to make the new beds over the next few months.

  5. Congratulations with your beautiful photos and interesting post.

Leave a Reply

