Mica Grange Autumn Exhibition 2015

 

DSCN3768

 Flowers that say ‘autumn’ are Wind Flowers.

Some friends and I took advantage of the fine autumn weather this afternoon to visit Mica Grange on the slopes of Mt. Alexander to admire the garden, the views and the current garden art and sculpture exhibition.

DSCN3730

 

DSCN3732

 

DSCN3734

 

DSCN3736

 

DSCN3738

 

DSCN3741

 

DSCN3744

 

DSCN3746

 

DSCN3749

 

DSCN3752

 

DSCN3755

This group of whimsical art works have great appeal.

DSCN3759

 

DSCN3761

 

DSCN3763

 

DSCN3765

 

DSCN3767

And these little cuties came home with me.

DSCN3756

Mica Grange is the setting for two garden art and sculpture exhibitions a year. If you want to view the spring 2014 exhibition at Mica Grange click here.

 

13 Responses

  1. I really enjoyed this post, Margaret. I am a real fan of metal sculpture. I’m curious, is the bowl/nest metal sculpture? It’s an unusual piece. Of course I love these garden tours… the flowers are gorgeous. Here we do not have much flora in the autumn as the temperatures are intense and the wind seems to blow constantly.

    • Thank you, Lori. I am glad you enjoyed this post. The bowl/nest is made from lengths of thick metal wire. I think the metal is new as it doesn’t look weathered.

  2. I adore anemones Margaret. There aren’t many hardier perennials out there to plant. We have them in the garden under the deck that in summer gets so dry that it resembles a desert and every year they keep coming back despite being grazed to nubs by wallabies. I love the rose hips on roses. Especially “rugosa” when they are often more spectacular than the flowers. A good friend gave me some gorgeous ripe hips and I am attempting to grow them. The artwork in this garden is truly delicious. I keep seeing things that I think I could have a go at making for Sanctuary or the main garden. I sometimes think that I should just pull out all of the plants and make the whole garden steel and rocks so that the wallabies can’t eat it all 😉

    I might not emulate the naked garden romping nymphs. I don’t think our next door neighbour Frank would cope ;).

    • Hi Fran. I found the rose hips very eye catching – they were so plump and so red. I thought with your culinary skills, you might have wanted to make your gift of rose hips into something edible – rose hip jelly?

      • Not sure the big fleshy/flashy hips are any good for rosehip syrup or jelly. The old wild roses are the ones that are cram packed with vitamin C. I have lots of those mingled in with the blackberries here 😉

  3. Love the art and garden combination, and definitely the whimsical pieces.

    • Yes Enivea, Mica Grange is a great place to revisit because of the changing exhibitions and the seasonal changes in the garden.

      The work of the artist who creates the whimsical pieces is very distinctive. Her work was also on display in the spring exhibition of 2014.

  4. What beautiful weather and what fantastic sculptures. I love gardens that have such interesting artwork. I particularly like the interesting “bowl” but the more whimsical ones at the end are very appealing too. I think I may have taken those “cuties” home with me too! Thank you for sharing another fine collection of interesting pictures, Margaret. 🙂

  5. Hi Jane, Thank you for your feedback.
    I think it is fantastic that the owners of the garden support the work of artists by hosting the exhibitions in their garden twice a year. This means opening the garden over several weekends a year.
    The owners obviously enjoy sharing their garden with other garden lovers.

  6. what an amazing place Margaret! and I love your blog, I llok forward to more of this. Thank you for stopping by at mine. Warm greetings form Ohio, Johanna

    • Thank you, Johanna. I am glad you liked this post about Mica Grange.

  7. What a selection of fabulous photo’s

    • Thank you, Marylou. I am glad you enjoyed the tour around the garden at Mica Grange.

Leave a Reply

