The Keep – Making The Most of Foliage

DSCN3238

 This is the second post about The Keep near Taradale.

This post features the ornamental garden with its emphasis on the colours, shapes and textures of foliage.

DSCN3258

 Water and the green of foliage is soothing.

DSCN3262

 

DSCN3272

 

DSCN3275

 The Crab Apple garden is green now the blossoms and flowering bulbs have finished.

DSCN3295

There is a wide palette of greens and foliage of different colours.

The owners like clipped rounded shapes.

DSCN3297

 

DSCN3271

 I couldn’t resist the splashes of colour the flowers provided.

DSCN3273

 

DSCN3304

7 Responses

  1. Lovely photographs, Margaret. I too love splashes of color… there is something wonderfully surprising about a pop of color!

    • I am glad you like the photographs, Lori. I am sure you are looking forward to the greening of your landscape with the approach of spring. We had two weeks of cool weather in January which was almost like autumn. Although it is still summer and it has warmed up again, the deciduous trees are starting to colour early.

  2. What a delightful place to visit. I do enjoy gardens where there is a little water to help soothe the soul. Lovely photographs as always, Margaret. Thank you for sharing these.

    • Hi Jane. Yes, a water feature is a great asset to a garden whether it be a lake or a water bowl.

      The beauty of lakes is they provide natural air conditioning as breezes blow across the water.

      I appreciate the compliments of photographers who visit my blog given I use a little point and press digital camera.

  3. I love green as well. I am a great fan of evergreens and conifers that give gardens a lovely green tinge all year round. Thank you for sharing this lovely garden with us Margaret 🙂

    • Thank you Fran. There are so many shades of green. I particularly like the fresh greens of new leaves on deciduous trees.

      I am learning to appreciate the different colours and forms of succulents as I have planted a number of them in my garden. Succulents are suited to the harsh summer conditions here although some varieties do quail in the face of successive frosts in winter and spring.

      • Some are very hardy as well. Have a look for one called “Shrek”. I bought when it was tiny and it’s almost 3ft tall now!

Leave a Reply

