The Victorian Goldfields Railway

DSCN3413

 On Sunday, the 28th of December 2014, my niece and I chuffed our way from Castlemaine to Maldon on a steam train.

The Victorian Goldfields Railway is run by a band of volunteers using a former Victorian Railways branch line which closed in 1976.

DSCN3410

The action in Castlemaine

DSCN3406

 

DSCN3408

 

DSCN3425

 

DSCN3426

 

DSCN3440

DSCN3436

 

DSCN3417

DSCN3419

Muckleford station – a brief rail stop

DSCN3433

 

DSCN3435

 

DSCN3423

 

DSCN3430

 The destination – Maldon Railway Station

 

 

7 Responses

  1. What a lovely way to see the countryside. I bet it was fun to ride that beautiful old train and in the company of your niece as well. I hope you had a nice Christmas Margaret and Happy New Year 🙂

    • Yes Fran, The steam train is a novel way to travel. My niece commented how slow the train was, finding it difficult to imagine that people once used the train as a regular mode of travel from Castlemaine to Maldon. The rail trip is about 45 minutes compared with 20 minutes by road.

      My niece was able to experience modern rail travel the next day when we travelled by the sprinter to Bendigo. The trip took less time than by motor car.

      • I think the value of a nice long train trip is entirely underrated. Just think of all that time to catch up with your reading, to read the paper or to knit, crochet or do something else crafty or simply to think about things while you look out the window 🙂

  2. What a fun trip! I recently stayed with friends who had turned an old railway carriage into a dining hall and gallery. They’d left much of the beautiful wooden and leather fittings there. I still have lovely memories of a trip I once took with my mother many years ago. I’m glad you got a chance to do this with your niece. Happy new year, Margaret. 🙂

    • Thank you, Jane. Old trains, especially steam trains, have an appeal that has not diminished with time.

      The decorative features in the carriages are unique to the era they were built. Unfortunately, I could not obtain a photograph of the decorative pressed metal panels in the ceiling of the carriage.

      I hope 2015 is a good year for you, Jane.

  3. Looks a wonderful trip! I may get there later this year…. 🙂

    • Hi Enivea. The steam train is a popular tourist experience. I hear the sound of its whistle on the weekends and Wednesdays when the train operates. There was no train operating on Saturday when it was a Total Fire Ban day.

Leave a Reply

