Mosaic: Scarab

DSCN3128

This is the fourth of a series of transparent mosaics I have made at Heart Art.

I made this one yesterday – Sunday, the 26th of October.

The first item I chose for the mosaic was the big, blue bead. It reminded me of the scarab beetles which the ancient Egyptians depicted in their jewellery.  The design of the mosaic was inspired by the jewelled collars worn by the Egyptians of high status.

I am very pleased with the design and colours of the finished mosaic.

DSCN3118

6 Responses

  1. I am like a magpie with shiny things and blue is the most delicious of the shiny things. This is lovely Margaret. There is something you get from creating something beautiful that you simply don’t get from anything else. I don’t know what it is, but its very satisfying to make something beautiful 🙂

    • Thank you Fran, I am glad you like this mosaic. I receive a lot of pleasure from the mosaics I have made over the years. I agree it is very satisfying to create something beautiful and to be able to enjoy it for a long time to come.

  2. Your mosaics are always so stunning. I love these colors.

    • Thank you Lori. I looked at the earlier transparent mosaics I have made and noticed similar colours had been chosen for this one. So I clearly have my favourites.

  3. I love this! It has a combination of some of my favourite things, a mosaic, shades of beautiful blue and the transparency aspect. It’s a joyful piece that I’d enjoy having at my own place.

    • Thank you, Jane. This mosaic now hangs in my living room where I have the pleasure of seeing it each day.

Leave a Reply

