Collage: These are a Few of My Favourite Things

DSCN2972

“When the dog bites,

When the bee stings,

When I’m feeling sad,

I simply remember my favourite things and then I don’t feel so bad.”

As sung by Julie Andrews in ‘Sound of Music’

I made this collage about some of my favourite things about my home:

The strips of toilet paper wrapper – my house is light and bright, full of colour and texture,

The red tea bag wrappers – the pleasure of drinking good quality green tea. I’ve run out. I need to get some more.

The art work made by my nieces – their greeting cards give me a lot of pleasure. Gemma wrote 61 all over the turtle’s shell to mark my 61st birthday.

The pieces of knitting – knitting is calming. Balls of yarn settle on various surfaces in the living area. Most days I am extracting yarn from Katie’s mouth. Katie loves anything soft and chewy. She prefers my yarn to her yarn which lives in her own special yarn bag.

The keys – keys to my heart, keys to happiness, the keys I can never find when I need them.

The beads – the joy of my own creations which adorn my home.

DSCN2959

Katie who just wants to have fun.

DSCN2964

Arlo, The Magnificent, who doesn’t have much time for Katie.

DSCN2965

Belle, The Huntress, who is sitting on the kitchen bench which is forbidden. That reflective collar isn’t there for decoration. Belle is Katie’s favourite playmate.

DSCN2970

4 Responses

  1. Aw, I love the photos of the furry friends. Now you’ve caused me to ponder my favorite things…

    • Thanks Lori. I hope pondering your favourite things will be a time for joyful reflections.

  2. I love your collage Margaret, and it’s a great form of expression. Lovely to meet Arlo the Magnificent, and Belle also – who has benches in common with Pixel 🙂
    Greetings again to Katie 🙂

    • Thank you, Enivea. I appreciate the way collage lends itself to expressing feelings and ideas in a way which is different to drawing.
      I hope I will be able to read an update on the fortunes of your animal companions ( How are Fred, Frank, Pixel and Merriwether?) in the near future.

Leave a Reply

