Print making – the first proofs

DSCN2857

 

At the last session of my print making course, I made the first proofs from the plates I had made.

It was interesting to see my work ‘in the flesh‘. However, it was clear I need to practise my inking skills.

DSCN2858

Not enough ink.

DSCN2859

Too much ink.

DSCN2860

I will remove the texture lines from the background of this one to provide more contrast with the lines in the central flower.

Next session, I will be practising my inking technique some more and experimenting with printing on different papers.

4 Responses

  1. Oh, Margaret, these are gorgeous (even with the lack or abundance of ink). I look forward to seeing more of your work with print making!

    • Thank you Lori. I am currently working on another plate to add to my collection. I am looking forward to tomorrow’s session so I can see the new print.

  2. It’s lovely to watch the process evolve, and let’s face it, if it all came together easily then it wouldn’t be half as much fun!

    • That’s right, Enivea. Courses such as this are opportunities to experiment and learn under the guidance of an experienced tutor.

Leave a Reply

