Lino Print: Desolation

DSCN2734

Yesterday, Thursday, I began a series of 5 print making workshops ‘rough cuts’ at a local art supply shop in Castlemaine.

Betsy Forster, a local artist, will guide the group  through the process of making relief prints. We will be making lino and wood prints.

In the coming weeks, I will be sharing what I have made but nothing to show as yet.

I have made  lino prints in the past  and this workshop will help me  improve my technique.

For now, I have dug this lino print out of my archives and it will be interesting to see how my work develops over the next 4 weeks.

I gave the print the title  ‘Desolation’  as it illustrates my feelings about a career failure in my early twenties.

2 Responses

  1. I will be interested to see how you get on. I had a bit of a go at making linoprints a few years ago but wasn’t very impressed with what I had done. A workshop would probably be useful to me.

    I like your linoprint here. It captures a feeling of desolation very well.

    • Thank you, Meanderer. In the first session, I learnt how to ink the roller correctly using a glass sheet. Now I need to practise this.

Leave a Reply

