Celebrating the Winter Solstice

DSCN2402

Oh Joy! Oh Bliss!

Today is the Winter Solstice,

I turn from the spiral into darkness to embrace hope and the lightness of spirit the longer days bring.

Friday, the 21st of June 2013

Winter is usually a time of  psychological and physical struggle especially whilst I lived in Melbourne with its relentless grey days. In contrast to last year, this winter has been a doddle. My mood has been much more upbeat with Castlemaine’s sunny days and physically, I am faring better. There is still the coldest month of July ahead but I have made a good start. 

The winter solstice was celebrated in Belgrave in the Dandenong Ranges with its 7th annual lantern parade on the 22nd of June whilst in Castlemaine, there was the inaugural Village Winter Fair.

DSCN2405

4 Responses

  1. Beautiful drawings which really give a feeling of light and celebration.

    I’m with you regarding grey days. We have had many of them here in England due to the jet stream being positioned further south than normal.

    Happy Winter Solstice, Margaret!

    • Thank you Meanderer. Yes, I have been luxuriating in the series of warm, sunny days June has brought us. I hope the sun has found its way into your summer days recently.

  2. A wonderfully uplifting drawing Margaret, one which instantly tweaked the corners of my mouth upwards! Very pleased that you’re doing better in your new environment 🙂
    The photos of the lantern festival are great! The whole village type atmosphere, and community happenings( I checked out other pages) are enticing me to live across the border. I’m sure I will, one day. When, not if. 🙂

    • Yes, the sense of community in the Dandenong Ranges is very strong, Enivea. Like Castlemaine, there is a big community of artists and people with strong interests in environmental and social issues.

Leave a Reply

