Coming Home

DSCN2396

It was settlement day,

The keys were newly in my hands,

I entered the empty house stripped of its finery  by the previous owners and opened the rear glass door,

The buddleias in the garden were aflutter with butterflies,

Delicate perfume flowed into the living room

Followed by a butterfly

Welcoming me home.

I began moving into this house in Castlemaine on the 5th of April.  Living in Castlemaine has felt like a home coming.

DSCN2392

My pets, Spotty, the dog and  the two cats, Arlo and Belle, have adapted readily to their new surroundings.

DSCN2401

DSCN2399

DSCN2386

4 Responses

  1. I have always loved the presence of butterflies. This is a lovely drawing. The butterfly bush is quite inviting to those delicate, winged fritillaries. I hope you enjoy many wonderful years in Castlemaine.

    Aren’t animals resilient?

    • Lori, The move from Ferntree Gully to Bendigo was a bigger shock for my pets as it was the first major change for them since coming to live with me. They took this second move in their stride.

      The cats have plenty of interesting places to explore and Spotty enjoys our walks where there is both town and bush to experience. He gets to see ducks, kangaroos and rabbits on a regular basis.

  2. I’m so pleased to get this news Margaret! The butterfly bush and the butterfly’s presence bodes well for your future in Castlemaine. Especially lovely to meet your little family, and to know they’ve settled in to the new home. 🙂

Leave a Reply

