The Oak Forest

DSCN2342I look up through the layers of leaves and branches to the clear blue dome overhead,

An interplay of sunlight and shadow bewitch the eye as the leaves flutter,

The sun is gently warm on my skin,

I listen to the breeze, buzzing insects and birdcalls,

A butterfly hovers over dry leaves,

Peace.

The Oak Forest, Mt Alexander, near Harcourt.

9th January 2013

The Oak Forest was planted in 1900 to provide tannin from acorns for local tanneries.  

DSCN2346

15 Responses

  1. Oh, Margaret, this is absolutely gorgeous! I think of time spent with my nephew nearly 30 years ago. He was 2 years old at the time. We sat beneath an oak tree where he gathered acorns in a little basket and spent hours playing with them. Oak trees are very special to me for this sentimental reason!

  2. Lori, Acorns fascinated my nieces and nephews when they were young also. Thank you for sharing your memories of a special time with your nephew. These moments are precious.

  3. I see this and think it would be lovely to do a version in embroidery…..
    When I find trees that have been planted by a person long ago, I give thanks.

  4. Enivea, Although the oak forest was planted for commercial purposes, the forest continues to give pleasure to those who visit it. I am grateful the forest was not cut down after it was no longer needed for tanning purposes.

  5. Beautiful post. I really like oak trees.

    • Judy, I am glad you enjoyed this post. The nearby town of Castlemaine has some fine examples of oaks in the botanical gardens.

  6. You have captured the essence of the forest, Margaret – I keep reading the poem embraced by your wonderful artwork again and again. I would like to reblog, if I may.

    • I am glad you enjoyed the artwork and poem, Diane. It is interesting how we are drawn to certain words and images – how they strike a special chord within us as individuals. Yes, I am happy for you to reblog this post.

      • I have just reblogged and I know many of the visitors to my blog will enjoy! Thank you and blessings, Diane

  7. Reblogged this on bardessdmdenton – prose, poetry and painting and commented:
    Margaret is an art therapist and reiki practitioner, and a wonderful artist and writer, with a unique style and voice. I share one of her recent posts that so beautifully captures the magic, the comfort, the peace of being in nature. Enjoy!

  8. Reading your poem fills me with a feeling of peace, and looking at your beautiful oak leaves transports me over the seasons to summertime and lying under the shade of a tree, looking up…

    • Barbara, Lying under the shade of a tree looking up is one of the great pleasures in life.

  9. This is lovely, Margaret 🙂

    • Thank you Martin. I am impressed by the responses to this post. It is interesting how oak trees have created special memories and meaning for people.

      • The oak is… simply The oak where each leaf holds a memory of time 🙂

Leave a Reply

