Pastel Drawing: Grief – 14th November 2012

Grief for my aunt, Anne, and my friend, Enid, who both died this year.

Grief for my nephew, Alexander, a young man in early adulthood who is struggling with life. It all seems too much for him. What will his future be?

Grief for my unruly garden which will disappear under a new dwelling. The possums will lose another haven.

Grief for the death which needs to occur as I leave one stage of my life to begin another.

This is my final post published from my home in Ferntree Gully. I am surrounded by the chaos of packing and my mind is filled with a list of tasks to be completed by Monday when the removalists arrive. 

I am  grateful for the assistance and  support provided by family and friends as I undertake this major life change.

I will be in Bendigo, in Central Victoria, when I publish my next post. 

14 Responses

  1. A terribly difficult time for you Margaret, my heart goes out to you. May the transition be without added difficulties, and healing begin.

    • Thank you for your good wishes, Enevea. 2012 has been a challenging year emotionally and I look forward to the next 12 months as I adapt to my new life. I am aware that you too have been through difficult times this year and have taken on the challenge of a new home yourself. May 2013 be calmer and more peaceful.

  2. Margaret, I am sending much positive energy and love to you! I look forward to hearing about the good things this change will bring to you… there is a silver lining in every cloud!

    • Lori, I appreciate your encouraging and supportive words. Yes, positive energy and love are very welcome. I hope to be sending out lots of positive energy myself in 2013.

  3. Hi Margaret It has been great sharing energies with you over the past few years. I feel you will take on a new lease of life and transitions from the old and into the new can be painful. All the best for a flowing move and I look forward to your new posts from the countryside. Lots of love and hugs. xxx ooo

    • Thanks Lynette, I appreciate your encouragement. Yes, I am finding this major change in my life challenging, more so than I anticipated. From time to time I am reminded that I still have a lot to learn about myself and life.

  4. Hi Margaret, I have just read your blog posted on 14 November. What an appropriate way of experiencing, dealing with and externalising your pain!! I sense your courage also, like a plant being uprooted and not being sure where her roots will finally settle……..experience has shown that Seasol will support the process!!!!!
    I have great admiration for your determintation to follow your heart.

    • Yes, Jennie, 2012 has been difficult emotionally. Making the drawing seemed to be the best way to express the heaviness I was feeling. I look forward to sending down strong roots over the next 6 months.

  5. Sometimes grief, however painful, leads us to new opportunities, with new doors opening … I pray that this is happening for you as I write! Look forward to seeing your first post from your new surroundings … =D

    • Thank you, Rita. I am planning to post my next blog soon as I now have the brain space to start focussing on this task.
      I am looking forward to the new opportunities 2013 will bring.

  6. Hope the move goes well and that 2013 brings better news.

    • Richard, I appreciate your supportive comment. I swing between optimism and anxiety for my future. However, I am aware this is all part of a developmental process. Going to my first yoga class since moving was a step in the right direction.

  7. Your strength and light will be your companions on this new journey – All will be well…

    • John, Thank you for your optimism. Encouraging comments make the journey easier.

Leave a Reply

