Mask Making: Earth

As  I was making this mask,  I was thinking of the impact made on the earth by the thousands of diggers seeking their fortune on the goldfields around  Castlemaine during the mid to late  1800s.

The earth was denuded of its tree cover, dug over, tunnelled, trampled, pounded, ripped, reshaped, piled, dumped, washed and sieved.

I have given the mask the rough textures of the rocky, clay soil, the colours observed in the roadside cuttings and added the glint of gold.

4 Responses

  1. Wonderful work! I love masks!

  2. Your Masks are beautiful. You physically and spiritually make us one with the Earth through this Art. I feel compassion and forgiveness when I look at them.

    • Thank you for sharing your responses to the masks. I was surprised by my own depth of feeling over the time I was making them.

Leave a Reply

